Home > Uncategorized > Tripods and Other Hardluck Animals I Love

Tripods and Other Hardluck Animals I Love

In addition to all my other obsessions, I am also quite enamored with animals, especially animals with hardluck stories.  My first two cats Hero, a calico who does not realize she has a tail, and Beatrice, a Hemingway polydactil, both came from the Pierce County Humane Society.  It was love at first site.  I didn’t intend to get another cat, but then one of my co-workers told me the story of his cat that was being mistreated by his dogs.  The cat desperately needed a new home.  The deal was sealed when I found out that he had only three legs.  Rocky was a sweet heart who got around pretty well by dragging his butt.  When he was determined, he could even pull himself up on the bed using his front paws.  Unfortunately he passed away a few years back from heart failure.  He is very much missed.

My First Tri-Pod

My First Tri-Pod

After Rocky passed, I desperately wanted another cat.  Through luck or coincidence or whatever, I stumbled upon a Petsmart adoption day where there was a hard luck case rescue represented.  They just happened to have a little cat that had just lost its leg because of an accident.  She was being nursed back to health and was almost ready for adoption.  I fell in love with her without even seeing her and brought her home as soon as she was well enough to move in.  I named her Crookshanks after the cat in the Harry Potter books, and she has been a member of my family ever since.

My Second Tripod Crookshanks (Yes, that is a Harry Potter Reference)

My Second Tripod Crookshanks (Yes, that is a Harry Potter Reference)

When she first arrived, I didn’t think she would be able to jump on the beds or counters.  Her accident injured her other back leg as well. She quickly proved me wrong, however.  She gets around better than I do some times.

My last hard luck case is my dog Tinkerbell.  When I moved to a house with a big yard I wanted to get a dog.  I kept putting it off, however, because it seemed like such a big responsibility.  Another co-worker helped me find Tinkerbell.  She couldn’t keep Tinky with her anymore and the person that was keeping her kicked her because she got tangled up in the lead.  It was clear that Tinky needed a new home and pronto.  She is such a sweet heart.  She is great with kids and is wonderful company.

My Pup

My Pup

If you’re looking for an animal to share your life with, please consider the hardluck cases that might not otherwise be adopted.  If you happen to live in Gig Harbor, WA, I urge you to try Harbor Hope Cat Rescue.  They specialize in injured or physically challenged cats.  If you can’t get there, try your local animal shelter.  You won’t be sorry.

Thanks,

The Graham 10

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. Laura
    October 19, 2010 at 8:01 am

    Hey! It’s Laura from Harbor Hope Cat Rescue!!! Thanks for the shout out for special-needs animals and for HHCR. I still have the sweet photo of Crookshanks and your niece with Santa Claus. I really adore that picture. She was one of the very sweetest cats ever. Thank you from the bottom of my heart for loving her! Now we have a cat with two legs in the shelter. He was born in a barn in Utah with his umbilical cord wrapped around his rear legs and the tip of his tail. He is now 5 yrs old and gets around very well. Happy as can be! Is that your Rocky in the top photo? Cotton has very similar markings. Take care. Hugs to you all! Oh, Harbor Hope is on facebook now, too. You can see pictures of Cotton there.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

