Home > Uncategorized > Some Books I am Obsessed With

Some Books I am Obsessed With

Oh Hai Again!

I thought I would share an obsession I have that has absolutely nothing to do with cute baby animals.  I am a voracious reader.  Below are a few of my favorite books or book series.

The Harry Potter Series by J.K. Rowling: One of the greatest kids book series of all time that was written for adults as well.  I have read the adventures of the boy wizard many times over.  I wish I had a fraction of the writing talent that J.K. Rowling does.  My favorite of the Harry Potter Books is Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban. My favorite character from the series is Serius Black.  What a great name.  What a great character.  What amazing writing.

bookHarry

The Twilight Series by Stephanie Meyer: A quintessential guilty pleasure.  I don’t know why I like it, but I do.  Perhaps it is the hopeless romantic in me.  Mrs. Meyer really knows how to create a perfect couple and lots and lots of romantic tension.  Summer would be the great time to start reading this series.  You will go through withdrawal when you’re done.

booktwilight

Rumpole of the Bailey by John Mortimer:  I first encountered Rumpole in his B.B.C. Television incarnation.  The books are even better than the series starring Leo McKern.  Rumpole is an irreverent barrister representing criminals and angering judges down at London’s criminal court the Old Bailey.  He is witty and well read and has a wife he calls “She Who Must Be Obeyed.”  These books are sweet and funny. I am sure you will really enjoy them.

bookrumpole

The Alienist by Caleb Carr: A mystery can’t go wrong when one of the main characters is Teddy Roosevelt.  This book, that is set in New York City, is about a doctor who is one of the first to study serial killers.  He uses his scientific knowledge to solve a series of grisly murders.  It is a might gory, but also captivating.  It will keep your interest from beginning to end.  The sequel, The Angel of Death, is not quite as good, but it is also a good read.

bookalien

Sherlock Holmes by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle: Every mystery worth their salt loves Sherlock Holmes.  The Holmes stories were my first introduction to mysteries, and I still love these stories today.  What more can I say about a mystery classic.

bookholmes

The Tea Shop Mysteries by Laura Childs: I love mysteries, and I love tea.  This series of books combines both in a really fun way and includes recipes that are actually good (yes, I have tried some.)  Theodosia Browning, the proprietress of the Indigo Tea Shop solves mysteries in Charleston, SC.    Mrs. Childs also writes a scrap booking series that is fun.

booktea

Howard’s End by E.M. Forster: When I was in college I went on an E.M. Forster kick after I read Howard’s End.  I think his use of language is just gorgeous.  He creates word pictures like no one else I have ever read.  The main characters in the book are the Schlegel sisters.  One impulsively marries a wealthy widow and the other gets involved in scandle.  It’s a great, classic story.

bookhoward

The Penn Dutch Inn Mysteries by Tamar Myers: This is a totally silly series of books centered around the Penn Dutch inn.  The inn is run by Magdalena Yoder, a Mennonite, and attracts big time Hollywood stars.  Magdalena has an Amish cook, a flighty “Presbyterian” sister who keeps her tiny dog in her bra, and  Jewish doctor husband.  It is really hard to describe this series.  There is nothing serious about them, but they are great fun.  Tamar Myers also writes a fun antique series.

bookpenn

Down the Rabbit Hole by Peter Abrahams: This is the first in the Echo Falls mystery series.  It is a young adult series but does not talk down to the reader.  I am in the middle of this book right now, but I can already tell I will be reading the other two books in the series.  Ingrid Levin-Hill is the 13 year old slueth around which the stories revolve.   She is your typical teenager who plays soccer, loves acting in the local community theater, is involved in her first romance, and finds herself solving a local mystery.  It’s a good read for adults and kids alike.

bookrabbit

State of the Onion by Julie Hyzy:  Despite the title, this book is more serious than some of the mysteries I enjoy.  It takes place in the White House kitchen, and reveals some of the real life secrets of White House dining.  The mystery revolves around a peace conference and involves lots of intrigue.  A very good read.

bookstate

Well, I hope you find something you enjoy here.  As I think of them, I will post more books that I have enjoyed over the past years of my reading obsession.

Thank You For Your Consideration and Go Out There and Read,

The Graham Ten

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

