Home > Uncategorized > Can You Sue if Your Candy is Too Chewy?

Can You Sue if Your Candy is Too Chewy?

Oh Hai!

In the American legal system the answer is clearly of course you can.  Whether or not you can win is an entirely different story.  Case in point McArthur vs. Mars Inc.

On April 1, 2005, Victoria McArthur decided to satisfy her sweet tooth by enjoying a few Starbursts.  After about three chews  she began experiencing pain in her jaw and had trouble opening an closing her mouth.

McArthur went on to file a $25,000 lawsuit claiming that Mars Inc. was negligent for creating a candy that was too chewy.  McArthur wanted to be reimbursed for her medical bills, time lost from work, and impairment of earning capacity.  She also wanted a warning added to the packages of Starbursts.  Read more about it at FoxNews.com.  I am having some trouble discovering the outcome of this lawsuit.  Seriously, I hope McArthur is feeling better, but a lawsuit, really?  Who doesn’t know Starburst Fruit Chews are chewy.  Watch out candy apple makers.  We are coming for you next.

This lawsuit hits close to home for me because I have experienced a similar problem.  While trying to complete my grades last week, I was obsessively chewing on Now and Later candies.  Any of you who have eaten a Now and Later know that they are quite chewy and sticky.  Well after about five or six candies I felt a piece of something hard in my mouth that was clearly not candy.  Worried that there might have been something odd in my candy, I promptly investigated.  It turned out it was just a piece of my tooth.  I guess I should sue.  It is clearly not my fault that I was chewing sugary candy with teeth that are not the strongest.  It was quite a shock and now I have to go to the dentist and use some of my valuable time.  Easy street here I come.

Thank You For Your Consideration,

The Graham Ten

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

